Traditional Cycling Tour of Turkey kicks off

ISTANBUL (AA) – The 52nd Presidential Cycling Tour of Turkey has started Sunday with the first Istanbul-to-Istanbul stage.

The riders departed from the Besiktas district on the European side and will go to Beykoz on the Asian side via the Bosphorus Bridge. They will ride back to the European side to complete the race.

Certain roads will be closed to traffic, Istanbul Police Department announced.

Organized traditionally by the Turkish Cycling Federation, the Presidential Cycling Tour of Turkey started in 1963 as the Marmara Tour and gained an international status for the first time in 1965.

For its 52nd edition, the tour will unfold in eight stages between April 24 and May 1.

Unlike previous years – when the last stage was held in Istanbul – this year the tour has started with the Istanbul stage and will end in western Izmir province’s Selcuk district on May 1.

By the end of the eight-day race, 128 cyclists will have ridden over 1,250 kilometers in Turkey’s Aegean, Mediterranean, and Central Anatolian regions.

Two world tour teams, nine professional continent teams and one continent team have so far confirmed their participations.

The Turkish Cycling Tour will be broadcast live on national and international channels in more than 120 countries.

– The tour route will be as follows:

Stage 1 Istanbul-Istanbul

Stage 2 Cappadocia-Cappadocia

Stage 3 Aksaray-Konya

Stage 4 Seydisehir-Alanya

Stage 5 Alanya – Kemer

Stage 6 Kumluca – Elmali

Stage 7 Fethiye – Marmaris

Stage 8 Marmaris – Selcuk (Izmir)