Pakistan: Assembly’s reserved seats allotted to parties

By Islamuddin Sajid

ISLAMABAD, Pakistan (AA) – Pakistan’s election authorities on Saturday announced the distribution of 70 reserved seats for women and minorities in the National Assembly to the contesting parties.

After edition of 33 reserved seats, the centre-right Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI), led by former cricket star Imran Khan, emerged as the single largest party in the parliament with 158 seats in 342-member house.

The reserved women and minority seats were distributed on basis of general seats the parties won in July 25 general election.

According to the notifications issued by the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP), the Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) of jailed former premier Nawaz Sharif became the second largest party in the parliament with 82 seats, followed by centre-left Pakistan People’s Party (PPP) with 53 seats.

The total number of seats of Muttahida Majlis-e-Amal, the five-party religious alliance, has risen to 15. Muttahida Qaumi Movement-Pakistan’s (MQM-P) numbers increased to 7, while Pakistan Muslim League-Quaid (PML-Q) have five seats in the National Assembly.

After securing one reserved seat each, the Sindh’s Grand Democratic Alliance strength raised to 3, Balochistan National Party (BNP) 4 and Balochistan Awami Party (BAP) 5 seats.

However, the Awami National Party, Jamhori Watan Party and Awami Muslim League, which bagged one seat each in the general election, could not secure any reserved seat.

President Mamnoon Hussain has summoned the National Assembly’s first session on Aug. 13, where the newly elected members will take oath.