Kuwait resumes flights with 12 countries after yearlong suspension

By Diana Shalhoub

ISTANBUL (AA) – Kuwait announced the resumption of flights with 12 countries on Thursday after a year-long suspension because of the coronavirus pandemic.

The resumption of flights will include Austria, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Britain, France, Germany, Greece, Italy, Kyrgyzstan, Netherlands, Spain, Switzerland and the US, according to the official news agency, KUNA.

"As of Aug. 1, non-Kuwaitis will be allowed to enter the country, provided they receive the coronavirus vaccine," spokesman for the General Administration of Civil Aviation, Saad Al-Otaibi, was quoted. "Kuwaiti citizens will not be allowed to travel abroad unless they have received two doses of the vaccine.”

"The groups who are not subject to vaccination due to their age, and those who have a certificate proving they are unable to obtain the vaccine for health reasons along with pregnant women are excluded from the decision," he added.

In August 2020, Kuwait announced a suspension of air travel with several countries to limit the spread of the virus.

As of late Wednesday, Kuwait recorded 356,687 cases, including 1,969 deaths, and 336,122 recoveries.

*Written by Ali Abo Rezeg