Cycling: Bennett wins another race in Tour of Turkey

By Fatih Erel

ISTANBUL (AA) – Ireland's Sam Bennett won the third stage of the 54th Presidential Cycling Tour of Turkey on Thursday in southwestern Mugla province.

Bennett, who rides for the Bora-Hansgrohe team, won the 132.7 kilometer-long race between Fethiye and Marmaris districts in 3 hours 16 minutes and 27 seconds.

For the second time, Tour of Turkey has been held in World Tour category.

Argentinian Maximiliano Richeze, who rides for the Quick-Step Floors team, came in second, while John Degenkolb, a German cyclist riding for the Trek–Segafredo, was third in the race.

On Wednesday, Bennett also won the second stage in Alanya district of southern Antalya province while on Tuesday, Argentinian Maximiliano Richeze won the first stage in the central province of Konya.

– 6-stage tour of 950 kilometers

This year's edition sees 20 teams from across the world, including the Turkish national team, race in the 950-kilometer, 6-stage tour.

After its promotion to World Tour category, the Tour of Turkey is expected to reach a large audience through broadcasts in more than 120 countries.

Organized by the Turkish Cycling Federation, the Presidential Cycling Tour of Turkey debuted in 1963 and became an international race two years later.

In the world's only cycling tour to connect the continents, cyclists will also ride in the Eurasia tunnel connecting Europe to Asia beneath the Bosphorus Strait.

Nine "World Tour" teams are among 20 teams with 140 cyclists racing in the Tour of Turkey.

This year, the six-day tour started in Konya on Oct. 9 and will end in Istanbul on Oct. 14.


Stage 1: Konya – Konya / Oct. 9 // 148.4 km

Stage 2: Alanya – Antalya / Oct. 10 // 149.6 km

Stage 3: Fethiye – Marmaris / Oct. 11 // 132.7 km

Stage 4: Marmaris – Selcuk / Oct. 12 // 205.5 km

Stage 5: Selcuk – Manisa / Oct. 13 // 135.7 km

Stage 6: Bursa – Istanbul / Oct. 14 // 164 km


Turkish National Team

Astana Pro Team

Bahrain – Merida

Bmc Racing Team

Bora – Hansgrohe

Burgos – BH

Caja Rural – Seguros RGA

CCC Sprandi Polkowice

Delko Marseille Provence KTM

Euskadi Basque Country – Murias

Gazprom – Rusvelo

Manzana Postobon Team

Quick – Step Floors

Sport Vlaanderen – Baloise

Team Katusha Alpecin

Team Sunweb

Trek – Segafredo

UAE Team Emirates

WB Aqua Protect Veranclassic

Wilier Triestina – Selle Italia